Hit Show, Red Route One are among 13 entered in Okla. Derby

One of the largest fields in Oklahoma Derby history is set to go postward next Sunday at Remington Park.

A total of 13 3-year-olds drew into the Grade 3, $400,000 race, the headline event of a 10-race card.

The field of 13 is the largest for the Oklahoma Derby since 14 started in the 1 1/8-mile race in 2014.

Hit Show  has been made the morning-line favorite at 3-1 odds and will leave the gate from the outside post position Trained by Brad Cox, Flavien Prat will ride.

Cox is seeking his fourth win in the Oklahoma Derby. He won three straight from 2019-2021 with Owendale, Shared Sense and Warrant. Prat seeks his first win in the race.

Owned and bred by Gary and Mary West of Omaha, Neb., Hit Show won the Grade 3 Withers at Aqueduct on Feb. 11 before running second in the Grade 2 Wood Memorial in April. He eventually finished fifth in the Grade 1 Kentucky Derby and then fourth in the Grade 1 Belmont Stakes. Hit Show most recently was fifth in the Grade 2 Jim Dandy Stakes in July at Saratoga in upstate New York.

West Virginia Derby (G3) winner Red Route One is the second morning-line favorite at 7-2 odds. Trained by Steve Asmussen, Joel Rosario will ride. The colt by Gun Runner, owned and bred by Winchell Thoroughbreds of Las Vegas, was second in the Rebel Stakes (G2) at Oaklawn Park in Hot Springs, Ark. in February. Red Route One  was fourth in the Preakness Stakes and then eighth in the Belmont Stakes before scoring in West Virginia.

Red Route One competed in the Dueling Grounds Derby (G3) at Kentucky Downs at 1 5/16 miles over turf, finishing eighth in his most recent start on Sept. 3.

Asmussen seeks his second Oklahoma Derby victory, winning previously in 2017 with Untrapped. Rosario has won the race twice before with Pleasant Prince (2010) and Warrant (2021).

The field for the Oklahoma Derby in post position order, with jockey, trainer and morning-line odds:

1. Ghost Hero: Floyd Wethey, Jr., Jayde Gelner, 20-1

2. Tumbarumba: Rafael Bejarano, Brian Lynch, 6-1

3. Raise Cain: no jockey named, Ben Colebrook, 5-1

4. Cagliostro: Cristian Torres, Cherie DeVaux, 8-1

5. Heroic Move: Harry Hernandez, Robertino Diodoro, 20-1

6. Gunflash: Luis Fuentes, Karl Broberg, 30-1

7. West Coast Cowboy: Tyler Conner, Saffie Joseph, Jr., 8-1

8. Pearl's Earl: Jose Medina, Eric Snodgrass, 99-1

9. How Did He Do That: Stewart Elliott, Steve Asmussen, 20-1

10. Red Route One: Joel Rosario, Steve Asmussen, 7-2

11. Grove Land: no jockey named, Eoin Harty, 15-1

Sign up for our free newsletter.

© 2023 Sky Racing World. All rights reserved.