2023 Golden Rose Stakes: Race History

So many future stars are within the Race History of the Golden Rose Stakes run at Rosehill on Saturday.

The Autumn Sun was one of those excellent winners so adds to that in the 2023 Golden Rose Stakes (1400m) at Rosehill on Saturday?

2023 Golden Rose Stakes Day: Nominations


The Golden Rose Stakes is a Group 1 race run under Set Weight conditions for three year olds at Rosehill conducted by the Australian Turf Club.

The Golden Rose Stakes is run over 7 f. It was first run in 1978 as the Peter Pan Stakes and was won by Kapalaran.

As the Golden Rose Stakes all runnings have been over 1400m.


The race was originally named after the champion horse Peter Pan. It became the Golden Rose as a Spring follow up from the Golden Slipper in 2003.

As the Peter Pan Stakes it was a Group 2 up to the end in 2002. Once the Golden Rose Stakes began it was unlisted but run at $1million. It was incrementally re-elevated to become Group 1 in 2009.

Since becoming the Golden Rose, the Crown Lodge/Darley/Godolphin team have won the race seven times.

Many Caulfield Guineas winners have come out of this race. For instance these 3yos ran these placings at Rosehill – Golden Mile (4th), Anamoe (2nd), Ole Kirk (1st), The Autumn Sun (1st), Divine Prophet (4th), Press Statement (5th), Shooting To Win (3rd), Helmet (3rd), God's Own (4th), Econsul (4th), In Top Swing (1st).

Those to do The Run To The Rose/Golden Rose double are Paratroopers, Denman, Hallowed Crown, Exosphere, Astern and Bivouac.

While Trapeze Artist won the 2017 edition at 40-1, his return in the Autumn would include Championships G1s like the TJ Smith Stakes and All Aged Stakes.

The Autumn Sun was spectacular last year coming from last and would add to his resume in the Caulfield Guineas making it three G1s from only six outings.

The 2007 race was not held due to the Equine Influenza break out. It was however transferred to be run in the Autumn of 2008 with another edition the following Spring.

Forensics is the only filly to win and she won when the race was delayed and she is also the only Golden Slipper winner to take it out.

After the running of this, not only did Bivouac end up with a big prize (and a Newmarket in the Autumn) but Yes Yes Yes won the Everest and Exceedance took the Coolmore Stud Stakes.

Rothfire was the 8-15 fav in 2020 but after leading, incurred a fractured sesamoid and dropped away late. It also meant he would miss The Everest as a result.

The Golden Rose Stakes was worth $1million in 2023.

Notable winners of the Golden Rose Stakes include Jacquinot (2022), Ole Kirk (2020), Bivouac (2019), The Autumn Sun (2018), Trapeze Artist (2017), Astern (2016), Exosphere (2015), Hallowed Crown (2014), Zoustar (2013), Epaulette (2012), Denman (2009), Forensics (2008), Paratroopers (2005), In Top Swing (2003), Magic Albert (2001), Fairway (1999), On Air (1997), Flying Spur (1995), March Hare (1993), Drought (1986), Handy Proverb (1985), Sir Dapper (1983), Best Western (1981) and Kingston Town (1979).

The 2022 Golden Rose Stakes was won by Jacquinot from In Secret and Zou Tiger.

Sign up for our free newsletter.

© 2023 Sky Racing World. All rights reserved.