2023 Naturalism Stakes: Race History

Is the Caulfield Cup winner in the Naturalism Stakes run at Caulfield on Saturday?

Jameka did that double so the 2023 Naturalism Stakes (2000m) at Caulfield on Saturday is one to monitor.


The Naturalism Stakes is a Group 3 race run under Quality Handicap conditions for open class horses at Caulfield conducted by the Melbourne Racing Club.

The Naturalism Stakes is run over 1 1⁄4 m. It was first run in 1983 and was won by Mevron Boy.

The Naturalism Stakes has always been run at Caulfield.

Until 1994 it was run over 1 1⁄8 m but the Naturalism Stakes has been over 1 1⁄4 m since.

The race is named after the elite stayer trained by Lee Freedman who won an AJC Derby and Caulfield Stakes.

The Naturalism Stakes was upgraded to Group 3 in 2009.

The winner is exempt from the ballot for the Caulfield Cup.

2017 winner Harlem would go on to win two Australian Cups.

Jameka won the Caulfield Cup two runs later than winning here. She is the only horse to do the double.

The Naturalism Stakes was worth $200,000 in 2023.

Notable winners of the Naturalism Stakes include Smokin' Romans (2022), Nonconformist (2021), Harlem (2017), Jameka (2016), December Draw (2011), Douro Valley (2007), Zipping (2006), Sarrera (2005), Pentastic (2002), Inaflury (2001), Second Coming (1999), Skybeau (1997), Just A Dancer (1990), Sea Legend (1986) and Mapperley Heights (1984).

The 2022 Naturalism Stakes was won by Smokin' Romans from Uncle Bryn and Gold Trip.

Sign up for our free newsletter.

© 2023 Sky Racing World. All rights reserved.