All-Star Mile draws 81 quality entries

Ciaron Maher and David Eustace have entered 11 horses for the $5 million All-Star Mile.

A total of 81 horses have been nominated for the fifth edition of the All-Star Mile which will this year be run at Moonee Valley. 

Entries for the $5 million race closed on Wednesday with late nominations, incurring a $2500 fee, can be made until Monday. 

Once late nominations have closed, the public get their chance to vote on the official All-Star Mile website for their favourite horse, commencing February 6 through until February 26. 

Of the 81 horses nominated, Victoria leads the way with 43 horses, 29 come from NSW, five from South Australia, two from New Zealand and one each from Western Australia and Tasmania. 

Melbourne Cup winner Gold Trip is among the 11 horses entered from the Ciaron Maher and David Eustace stable and is owned by Australian Bloodstock who won the third running of the All-Star Mile, at Moonee Valley, with Mugatoo

Ben and J D Hayes have six entries, headed by Mr Brightside while Peter Moody has five, including I Wish I Win and Chain Of Lightning

I'm Thunderstruck appears among the three entries for Mick Price and Michael Kent Jnr while Tuvalu is Lindsey Smith's sole representative at the nomination stage. 

Last year's winner Zaaki is again nominated along with Annabel Neasham-trained stablemates Mo'Unga, Laws Of Indices and My Oberon while the Gai Waterhouse and Adrian Bott-trained Alligator Blood will attempt to make the field again this year having finished tenth in 2020 in the second running of the race when prepared by David Vandyke

New Zealand's two entries are Group 1 winner La Crique and Aegon

Matt Welsh, Racing Victoria's Executive General Manager – Racing, said those entered in the All-Star Mile are an outstanding list of horses that will ensure a memorable race. 

"Zaaki is back to defend his crown and he will certainly be made to earn with the likes of Melbourne Cup winner Gold Trip and Group 1 stars Alligator Blood, I'm Thunderstruck and Tuvalu alongside rising stars of the turf in She's Extreme, Jacquinot and Chain Of Lightning all put forward for the public vote," Welsh said. 

"As well as these drawcard horses, it's the smaller stables with their pin-up horses that we love to see the public get behind. 

"Scott Brunton's The Inevitable from Tasmania, Luke Fernie's Laced Up Heels from Western Australia and Sam Burford's Oh Mo from South Australia are just a number of horses who will be seeking their state's support to vote them into the Top 10."

Sign up for our free newsletter.

© 2023 Sky Racing World. All rights reserved.