2019 Longines Hong Kong Sprint: Race History

The race that Australian breeding had had most influence over is the Longines Hong Kong Sprint run at Sha Tin on Sunday.

Falvelon won it twice almost 20 years ago. Will it be a local winner again in the 2019 Longines Hong Kong Sprint (1200m) at Sha Tin on Sunday?


The Longines Hong Kong Sprint is a Group 1 race run under Weight For Age conditions for the sprinters at Sha Tin conducted by Hong Kong Jockey Club.

It is run as part of the Longines Hong Kong International Races (HKIR) meeting run in December each year.

The Longines Hong Kong Sprint is run over 6 f. It was first run in 1999 and was won by Fairy King Prawn.


The first runnings were as a Listed Race over 5 f but became 6 f in 2006.

It was then a Group 3 in 2000, Group 2 after that before becoming a Group 1 from 2002.

Most wins by a Trainer (3): Ricky Yiu and Tony Cruz.

Most wins by a Jockey (3): Brett Prebble.

Six horses have won the Sprint twice:- Falvelon, Silent Witness, Sacred Kingdom, Lord Kanaloa, Aerovelocity and Mr Stunning.

Some grand sprinters over the years have won and some all-time favourites from Hong Kong are amongst them. That is because the sprinters are the horses best known internationally from there – such as Silent Witness, Absolute Champion, Sacred Kingdom, Lucky Nine and Aerovelocity.

Of the overseas winners, Falvelon won twice for Brisbane trainer Danny Bougoure and Damien Oliver before it became a winning up the 5 f straight. J J The Jet Plane scored for South Africa and the Japanese powerhouse Lord Kanaloa won twice.

The Longines Hong Kong Sprint is now the final leg of the Global Sprint Challenge.

Mr Stunning was one of Hong Kong's four home trained winners on International Day 2018.

The Longines Hong Kong Sprint is worth HK$20m in 2019.

Notable winners of the Longines Hong Kong Sprint include Mr Stunning (2017/2018), Aerovelocity (2014/2016), Lord Kanaloa (2012/2013), Sacred Kingdom (2007/2009), Absolute Champion (2006), Silent Witness (2003/2004), Falvelon (2000/2001) and Fairy King Prawn (1999).

The 2018 Longines Hong Kong Sprint was won by Mr Stunning from D B Pin and Beat The Clock.

Sign up for our free newsletter.

© 2020 Sky Racing World. All rights reserved.