Accelerate And Justify Face Off For Horse Of The Year

Older champion Accelerate and Triple Crown hero Justify will face off for US Horse of the Year honours when the Eclipse Awards are announced on January 25.
Outstanding 3YO filly Monomoy Girl is also a Horse of the Year finalist but the popular opinion is the final voting will be a race between Accelerate and Justify.
Accelerate, whose owners Kosta and Pete Hronis are among the three finalists for the Eclipse Owner of the Year, won six of his seven outings in 2018 including the GI Breeders’ Cup Classic at Churchill Downs.
However Justify’s rise to glory in 2018 was sensational, going from a maiden win in February to become the second Bob Baffert-trainer runner in four years to win the Triple Crown in the space of four months.
He was retired unbeaten after just five starts in July.
A controversial disqualification in the GI Cotillion Stakes cost Monomoy Girl a perfect record in 2018 that saw her win the GI Kentucky Oaks, GI Acorn Stakes, GI CCA Oaks and GI Breeders’ Cup Distaff.
Accelaerate, Justiofy and Monomoy Girl should be named unanimous Eclipse champions in their individual divisions.
There were some noteworthy omissions among the Eclipse finalists including Klaravich Stables, which won five Grade I events with in 2018 with as many horses, 38 races overall and nearly $3.6 million in purse money,
Jockey Joel Rosario was also overlooked despite winning three Breeders’ Cup winners, including Accelerate.
The Eclipse Awards winners are determined by 271 eligible voters representing the National Thoroughbred Racing Association, National Turf Writers and Broadcasters and Daily Racing Form.
2018 Eclipse Award Finalists
Horse of the Year: Accelerate; Justify; Monomoy Girl
3YO Male: Catholic Boy; Justify; McKinzie
3-YO Filly: Midnight Bisou; Monomoy Girl; Rushing Fall
2YO Male: Game Winner; Improbable; Knicks Go
2YO Filly: Bellafina; Jaywalk; Newspaperofrecord
Male Sprinter: Imperial Hint; Roy H; Stormy Liberal
Female Sprinter: Finley’sluckycharm; Marley’s Freedom; Shamrock Rose
Male Turf Horse: Expert Eye; Stormy Liberal; Glorious Empire
Female Turf Horse: A Raving Beauty; Enable; Sistercharlie
Older Dirt Male: Accelerate; City Of Light; Gun Runner
Older Dirt Female: Abel Tasman; Marley’s Freedom; Unique Bella
Steeplechase: Jury Duty; Optimus Prime; Zanjabeel
Breeder: Mike Abraham; John D Gunther; WinStar Farm
Owner: Peter Brant; Hronis Racing; Team Justify
Apprentice: Reylu Gutierrez; Weston Hamilton; Edgar Morales
Jockey: Irad Ortiz Jr.; Jose Ortiz; Mike Smith
Trainer: Steve Asmussen; Bob Baffert; Chad Brown

Sign up for our free newsletter.

© 2020 Sky Racing World. All rights reserved.