2018 Frank Packer Plate: Race History

Some grand horses line the Race History of the 2018 Frank Packer Plate at Randwick on Saturday.

None more so than Might And Power who became a freak stayer. It will take some effort to emulate him in the 2018 Frank Packer Plate (2000m) at Randwick on Saturday.
2018 Frank Packer Plate: Nominations


The Frank Packer Plate is Group 3 race for three-year-olds conducted by the Australian Turf Club at Royal Randwick.
The Frank Packer Plate was first run in 1980 and honours Sir Douglas Frank Hewson Packer (1906–1974), a former committeeman of the Australian Jockey Club for 12 years.
The Frank Packer Plate is run over 1 1⁄4 m under set weights conditions for three-year-olds.
The Frank Packer Plate was a Group 2 race from 1980 to 1990. It has been a Group 3 race since 1991.
The 2018 Frank Packer Plate will be run over 1 1⁄4 m for prizemoney of $150,000.
The Frank Packer Plate has featured many notable classic three-year-olds and subsequent Group One winners.
Notable winners include Shaybisc, Dalmacia, Chiamare, Spritely Native, Never Quit, Royal Pardon, Bold Rancher, Juggler, Might And Power, Dodge, Freemason, Arlington Road, Clangalang, Carnegie House, Fat Arabian Gold and He’s Our Rokkii.
Gai Waterhouse has trained six winners of the Frank Packer Plate (Juggler, Spurred Arlington Road, Afraah, Rockwood, Fat
Fillies have won the Frank Packer Plate six times since 1980.
The G3 Carbine Club Stakes has been a good guide to the Frank Packer Plate in recent years with He's Our Rokkii (2016) and Hi World (2015) winning both races.
The 2017 Frank Packer Plate was won by Mongolian Wolf from Veladero and Screamarr.

Sign up for our free newsletter.

© 2019 Sky Racing World. All rights reserved.