New Intake Of Victorian Apprentices

Five aspiring young jockeys, including the daughter of a Scobie Breasley Medallist and the brother of a dual Rising Stars Award winner, have been started their riding careers under Racing Victoria’s Apprentice Jockey Training program.
The quintet, comprising four females and one male, will spend the next four years honing their riding skills under Racing Victoria’s Apprentice Jockey coaches Darren Gauci and Matt Pumpa.
Tayla Childs is the 21-year-old daughter of former leading rider Greg Childs, the 1998 Scobie Breasley Medallist and winner of over 2000 races including two Cox Plates and two Caulfield Cups.
She will join her twin brother Jordan in Victoria’s riding ranks as will 16-year-old Logan McNeil, the brother of dual Rising Stars winner Jye McNeil.
Tatum Bull (17), Alana Kelly (18) and Madison Lloyd (17) are the other 2018 AJTP inductees.
The budding apprentices will be educated on race riding, performance analysis, sports science and sports medicine as well as acquiring media, finance and business skills.
The quintet bring to 43 the number of apprentice jockeys engaged in the AJTP with 46 percent of those female.
Bull will begin her apprenticeship with trainer Kylie Vella, for whom she has ridden trackwork for the past 18 months.
Tayla Childs, who broke off her Bachelor of Education degree at Victoria University to pursue a career in racing, will be apprenticed at Caulfield with Andrew Noblet. She has already completed a stint as a track rider for G1-winning trainer and former jockey Patrick Payne.
Ballarat-based Kelly, a keen rower who has competed in the National Championships, has ridden trackwork for Archie Alexander while Lloyd is currently a stable hand for trainer Nathan Hobson in Swan Hill and will stay with that trainer.
Alana Kelly will be apprenticed to Daniel Kelly in Ballarat.
Logan McNeil will commence his apprenticeship with Gerald Egan, the Mansfield trainer who moulded Luke Nolen and Nick Hall into G1-winning jockeys.

Sign up for our free newsletter.

© 2018 Sky Racing World. All rights reserved.